jump to navigation

Wild turkeys! January 24, 2009

Posted by samwyse in Uncategorized.
trackback

Two of my kids and I took our first hike of the year along Grant’s Trail last week. We started at the eastern end and walked a little over a mile to Trailnet‘s office. On the way there, we surprised a flock of turkeys.

This picture shows the last three members of the flock. There were six or seven altogether, but it took me a moment to get my cellphone out of my pocket and the camera turned on.  The picture is small, because I used to “zoom” function.  The camera normally snaps pictures that are 640×480, but when you zoom in on something, it only saves the center 320×240 or, in this case, 160×120.  On the other hand, the picture is fairly clear, unlike my next one.

The rest of the trip was pretty uneventful, but when we got back to the car, I decided to snap another picture of the kids.

In this case, I wasn’t using the zoom, so I’ve got the entire 640×480 image.  On the other hand, this shot was made 48 minutes later and the light levels were starting to drop.  This causes the exposure time to automagically increase, making it much easier to get a blurred picture.  In fact, I had to snap this shot three times before I was happy with it.  And even then, I apparently jiggled the cellphone near the end of the exposure, causing the bottom third of the image to be blurred.  Oh, well, you get what you pay for, and in this case the camera was effectively free.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

