jump to navigation

Italy August 17, 2008

Posted by samwyse in Autobiographical.
trackback

There’s a pizza place that I love in North County. I used to live near it, but once I moved to South County, it was a bit too far to drive to on a regular basis. Being an independent retailer, they buy generic to-go boxes from some supplier. The boxes bear a map of Italy (or “Historic Italia”), and I’ve often daydreamed about spending a year in Italy and visiting the 26 cities, islands and volcanoes that are listed.

This weekend, the family and I were in the neighborhood, so we stopped by to get a couple of pizzas. As I looked at the box, I remembered those daydreams, and sadly realized that I would likely never be able to live them. It’s a realization that’s been hitting me a lot lately, and let me say that it hits hard. I guess that this is what a mid-life crisis is all about. I’m almost certainly past the mid-point of my life, and there’s so much that I meant to do. Looking at the average US life expectancy for white males, I’ve only got 1,144 weekends left to me. I can expect a few more, as I’ve survived this long and am in fairly good health, but really, I’m probably past the two-thirds marks.

(In case you’re wondering, the sites in Italy are: Milan, Venice, Turin, Bologna, Genoa, San Marino, Florence, Viareggio, San Remo, Perugia, Pisa, Siena, Assisi, Rome, Cassino, Bari, Naples, Ischia, Pompeii, Capri, Stromboli, Palermo, Termini, Reggio, Mt. Etna, Calabria, Catania, and Agrigento.)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

