jump to navigation

D.I.Y. Hummus August 1, 2007

Posted by samwyse in Uncategorized.
trackback

Normally, my wife cooks all of the meals in our household, but a couple of times a month she takes some or all of the kids and spends a few days visiting her parents.  At those times, I’m able to release my inner chef and try cooking something that I’ve never made before.  So it shouldn’t be a surprise to hear that, a while back, I decided to try my hand at making hummus.  I bought a can of chick-peas, tossed it into the back of the pantry, and forgot about it until tonight.

Of course, besides a can of garbanzo beans, I also needed a recipe, so I googled for ‘humus recipe’ and found a few.  Now, the fun thing about misspelling a search term is that you find all sort of interesting pages created by spelling-challenged people adn tonight was no exception.  My first hit was by the Famille Corpet, who live in or near the Pyrénées mountains.  The recipe called for lemon juice.  I’d used up the last of my lemons to make lemonade last week and didn’t feel like making a special trip to the store, so I substituted the juice of a navel orange.  (Of course, I didn’t want the leftovers to go to waste, so I turned the skin inside out and ate the pulp while standing over the kitchen sink; this allowed stray drops of juice to flow off of my chin without making a mess.  Yum!)

Other than that, I followed the recipe pretty faithfully.  The result was a bit runnier than any hummus I’ve ever had before, but it tasted delicious.  Every once it a while, I’d get a little burst of orange flavor, which I attribute to the bits of orange pulp I let fall into the blender.  Of course, I didn’t have any pita, so I started out eating it on some left-over Triscuits and switched to Ritz when they ran out.  Not having any pepper-infused olive oil, I tried blending in a tablespoon of dried (“pizza”) peppers, but they didn’t seem to effect the taste; I may try adding more later.  And now I’m thinking that I’ll have to try Denis’ recipes for Gaspacho and Taboule.

As I said, the hummus was a bit runny, apparently due to its not having any tahini. What to do?  Fortunately, the second recipe that I looked out answered that question:  substitute peanut butter!  Now that I know the secret, I’ll have to try it the next time that I make some.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

